Partners/Advisory Committee

Virginia Sea Grant (VASG) is a multi-university organization that advances the ecological, economic, and social sustainability and resilience of Virginia’s coastal and ocean ecosystems and the communities that depend on them.

The Research and Education Advisory Committee (REAC) is active in regular operations of VASG, including strategic planning, programmatic policy development, and recruitment. The REAC is composed of representatives from each of VASG’s partner institutions and meets twice annually, including a winter meeting at the Annual Project Participants’ Symposium.

REAC Members

George Mason University

Chris Jones
Director of the Potomac Environmental Research
and Education Center (PEREC)

James Madison University

Yvonne Harris
Vice Provost for Research and Scholarship

Old Dominion University

Fred Dobbs
Professor & Chair Ocean, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences

University of Virginia

Karen McGlathery
Director, Environmental Resilience Institute

Virginia Commonwealth University

Greg Garman
Director, Center of Environmental Studies

Virginia Institute of Marine Science

Linda Shaffner
Associate Dean of Academic Studies
Mark Luckenbach
Associate Dean for Research and Advisory Services

Virginia Tech

Saied Mostaghimi
Associate Dean, College of Agriculture and Director, VA Agricultural Experiment Station

External Advisory Committee (EAC)

The EAC provides stakeholder input on the strategic planning process, the research proposal review process, and on Commonwealth-wide trends and needs. The EAC is a diverse group of end-users including representatives from state agencies, the education community, coastal planning and management, the private sector, and NGOs. The EAC meets twice a year in joint sessions with the REAC.

Russel W. Baxter
Deputy Director, Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation

Paul Battaglia
Principle, Clark Nexsen

Vicki Clark
Retired Educator, Virginia Sea Grant

Jill Bieri
Director of Virginia Coast Reserve, The Nature Conservancy

Mike Congrove
Owner/Operator, Oyster Seed Holdings

A. J. Erskine
Bevans Oyster Co. and Cowart Seafood Corporation

Paula Jasinkski
Chesapeake Environmental Communications

Lewis L. Lawrence
Director of Regional Planning, Middle Peninsula Planning District Commission

Laura B. McKay
Manager, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program

Rob O’Reilly
Chief of Fisheries Management, Virginia Marine Resources Commission

Keith Skiles
Virginia Department of Health, Director of
Shellfish and Sanitation Division

Skip Stiles
Executive Director, Wetlands Watch

Bruce Vogt
Manager of Ecosystem Science and Synthesis, National Chesapeake Bay Office/ National Marine Fisheries Service

Tony Watkinson
Chief of Habitat Management, Virginia Marine Resources Commission

End Users


Proposal Reviewers

Principal Investigators